Elementary Science Olympiad ESO Photo
ESO 2008 Final Facts
Announcing the 2008 Team Winners
Kitty Stone Elementary's reign as ESO team champion continued in 2008 as the team medaled in 18 of 28 events including 6 first place finishes enroute to its sixth straight title. The Donoho School of Anniston finished second, St. Bede Catholic of Montgomery third, and Drew Middle School of Lincoln fourth in the overall team standings.

2008 Award Winners
Gold, Silver, and Bronze... The event-by-event list of over 240 individual medalists from Elementary Science Olympiad 2008 at Jacksonville High School.

The Gardendale team competes in Pentalthon. The Saks Middle School squad leap frogs to the finish line in Pentathlon.

The Estimania competitors size up the room for their estimations. St. Bede's Sean Federspill & Patrick O'Mara and Saks Middle's Chelsea Benson & Miranda Chauncey at work in Grab a Gram.

Congrats to all 18 of our participating schools in the largest ESO at JHS since 1996: Adamsville, Clay, Crumly Chapel, Donoho, Drew, Gardendale, Hueytown, Kitty Stone, Lipscomb, McAdory, Munford, Paine, Pleasant Grove, Saks Elementary, Saks Middle, St. Bede, Stowers Hill, and Winterboro. Thanks for helping make ESO 2008 a success!

- -
The writers in Write It, Do It examine their objects and begin writing instructions.

Team members work together in
A is for Anatomy.

Hueytown's Dontene Coates & Laura Brown review their materials at a station
in Don't Bug Me.

Donoho's Meredith Howell & Parker Morgan are hard at work in Don't Bug Me.

Drew's Dillan McBurnett & Kegan Cochran set up their bridge in Bridging the Gap. Alex Castanza & Mary Janet McLaughlin from St. Bede test their bridge
in Bridging the Gap.

Fifteen Years of ESO at JHS
Jacksonville High School hosted its first Elementary Science Olympiad in 1993. Missing just one year since, the 2008 Olympiad marked the 15th event at JHS. Only 2 schools have competed in every JHS Olympiad: Kitty Stone Elementary (Jacksonville) and Donoho (Anniston). And, of all those teams, just one coach has made it back every year. Special thanks go to Donna Plunkett, Donoho head coach, for her 15 years of dedication to the ESO student participants of the Donoho School!

Drew Middle team members pick up
their 4th place team trophy.
St. Bede gathers around
its 3rd place trophy.

Donoho celebrates its 2nd place finish.
Kitty Stone team members hold
up their 1st place trophy.

Updated: February 24, 2008.

What is ESO?
In the Classroom
Event Archive
SO Links
Contact Us